Virginia Sprint Series

IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Series Laurel Highlands Sprint Series Race # 5 Saturday May 18th 2024 Hagerstown Speedway, Hagerstown, Maryland

by Jim Haines

Timmy Bittner Wins after Austin Reed Dominates



Timmy Bittner raced his way to second but with three laps to go was running out of time to catch race long leader Austin Reed. Then it all went right for Bittner and wrong for Reed after getting together with a lap car left him flipping out of the speedway and Bittner was able to stay up front to win his first of the year.

With rain outs in the area everywhere thirty-five IMCA sprinters signed in to the smooth fast oval with heats first won by Ken Duke jr., Zack Rhodes, Timmy Bittner and Owen Dimm with the B main won by Reed Thompson.

The feature line up was led by Ken Duke and Kenny Heffner as the field went green but out front like a rocket was Austin Reed and started to pull away lap after lap leaving Ken Duke, Kenny Heffner and Bittner to fight over the runner up spot. Austin Reed was not going to be caught as the laps were winding down as Bittner made his way to second and Heffner third with Josh Spicer and Duke were racing for fourth but coming to two to go in turn three it went all went wrong getting together with a lapped car and Reed going out of the park. EMT's quickly made their way to help Reed out and he was taken to a local hospital to get checked out for safety purposes and a hand injury being released later that night thankfully.Bittner took up the lead for the quick run to the checkers and stayed there with Kenny Heffner second and Josh Spicer getting third.

At the line it was Timmy Bitner, Kenny Heffner, Josh Spicer, Ken Duke jr., Colton Hendershot, Erin Statler, Zach Rhodes, Mike Melair, Jay Fry, John Scarborough, Brad Mellott, Kasey Weaver, Owen Dimm, Matt Tebbs, Jerald Harris, Breaden Varner, Hunter McFadden, Dale Schweikert, Daren Bolac, Alan Rhodes, Austin Reed, Micheal Alleman, Fred Arnold, Reed Thompson, Dylan Shatzer and Kolby Weaver. DNS Matt Mullins, Jeff Weaver sr., Caleb Harris, Matthew Leach, Aaron Leach, Ryan Lynn, AJ Barton, Ben Miklos and Donny Hendershot.